love-rosie-film-poster

This is my final product of a film poster.

I googled my favourite film, ‘Love, Rosie’ and looked at the film posters that they had already made for it. The film poster that I liked and used ideas from for my own version was this one;

(1)love-rosie-film-poster-research

By looking at this film poster it gave me the idea to use Lily Collins and Sam Claflin on the front cover of my own version, as it shows the audience straight away who is going to be in it as the main characters. So, I then went on the internet and googled, ‘Lily Collins and Sam Claflin’. This came up with many pictures of them two of them together for me to pick.

(2)film-poster-picture

I picked this image because it had not been made into a film poster. It also captured the film well with being romantic as they are looking into each other’s eyes lovingly. However, I did not like the background that this picture already has. I decided to remove it by using the magnetic lasso tool on Photoshop to select Lily and Sam so they wouldn’t disappear when the background did. Once I got rid of the background I went onto Google and searched for ‘streets’ as I liked the idea of a street background behind them.

This is the picture I picked to use:

(3)street

I placed this picture into Photoshop where my main picture of Lily Collins and Sam Claflin was. This caused the street photo to be placed in front, to solve this I moved the layer of the street picture below the layer of Lily and Sam, which is found on the right side of Photoshop. This moved the street picture behind Lily and Sam. I then resized the street picture so it covered the whole page, making the final product to look like this;

love-rosie-film-poster-3

After doing this I then added the text for the film poster. I looked back at the original, professional film poster to see what text they had on the front. I noticed they didn’t have much writing, just the main details.

I put the name of the film at the bottom of the image in big bold writing, as well as changing the colour of it to red so it would stand out to the audience when they saw it. Putting it at the bottom makes the audience know what the film is called but it doesn’t cover the image that is helping sell the film. Then I  added text above the film name with Lily Collins and Sam Claflin names so the audience knew the main people that were in the film.

I noticed on the professional poster they had a quote for the film. I decided to copy this quote and use it on my film poster. I put this quote in the middle at the bottom of the page  by using the text tool again and put it in between the actors names. I done this so it stood out  for the audience but it also didn’t cover the image, so it does not draw the attention away from the actual image. After this I put, at the top of the image, what the film was based on, giving the audience some insight on the film.

All of this together made my final product;

love-rosie-film-poster


Name three jobs in the media industry where Photoshop skills would be required.

Three jobs in the media industry that would require Photoshop skills are;

1 –  Poster makers

2 – Editing photos for magazines

3 – Graphic designer


Reference:

1- “Film Posters – Google Search”. Google.co.uk. N.p., 2016. (Accessed: 14 November 2016)

2- “Lily Collins And Sam Claflin – Google Search”. Google.co.uk. N.p., 2016. (Accessed: 14 November 2016)

3- “City – Google Search”. Google.co.uk. N.p., 2016. (Accessed: 14 November 2016)